Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Arvo, 41, engineer

interviewed on 9 May 2020

In March, I had just started working on projects that I wanted to do for a long time. I started taking photos at events, met lots of interesting people, got what I wanted for a long time: new people around me. Photography is a way of meeting people and establishing some contact when there is the right environment and mutual interest. I like it, I was looking for a way to extend my circle of friends, and photography turned out to be the perfect way for it.

A week before the lockdown, I took photos at four events, everything around was bursting with energy and then—pssshh…—and I’m not seeing these people anymore, everyone’s in isolation.

My job is repairing medical equipment in hospitals. Initially, it seemed like everyone was shocked there as if they didn’t understand the scale, and there was no specific plan. For some time, I didn’t have any work to do. Then everyone got used to it; it even seemed that in some cases, medical workers could have more protective equipment.

There were positive moments due to the need to stay at home for some time. Time to think, to clear some things and thoughts: some processes started for which I usually didn’t have the time. I usually think more than do, but even I felt the lack of social interaction. Usually, when something is going on, I need a while to process that experience, but there are few experiences now, very little 'food' emotionally, I miss it.

I realized that I depend on new experiences and feel discomfort from the lack of freedom. Even the idea of getting out of my current circle of friends wasn’t because I’m not happy with it, but I just wanted to feel that I could do it. Any limitations—spatial or social—are unpleasant for me.

It’s very difficult to imagine myself in a future where they say: “And now you have to live like this for the next five years.” I want some unpredictability; I want to not know how an evening will end, to go out and come back on Wednesday. At least I want to have this opportunity. I want to feel free from circumstances, to feel I can change something myself.

“Tell me your story”

Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Margot

30, designer
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Marina

37, scientist, geneticist
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Raimi

27, 3D artist
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Anett

28, program manager
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Рональд

актёр
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Nastya

28, actress
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Maria

Maria, 31, choreographer, teacher, performer, research fellow
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Елена

33 года, руководитель детского клуба скалолазания
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Инга

предприниматель, куратор образовательных программ и тренер
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Евгений

24 года, менеджер в сфере туризма
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Teet

50, engineer, Master of Science
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Валентина

дизайнер интерьеров
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Kate

29, food photographer, podcaster
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Dmitry

32, engineer
Arvo. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

Диана

28 лет

Арво

41 год, инженер

Арво, 41 год, инженер

дата интервью: 9 мая 2020

В марте как раз начали реализовываться проекты, которые я долго ждал. Я стал фотографировать мероприятия, познакомился с массой интересных людей, появилось то, что я давно хотел: возможность выйти из своего привычного круга общения. Фотография — это способ познакомиться, завязать какой-то контакт, когда есть благоприятная среда, обоюдная заинтересованность. Мне это нравится, я долго искал подходящий способ расширять круг общения, и фотография показалась мне очень результативным инструментом.

За неделю до локдауна было четыре мероприятия, я фотографировал, всё бурлит и — пш! — я не вижу больше этих людей, все в изоляции.

Я занимаюсь ремонтом медицинской техники в больницах. Вначале там все были просто в шоке. Не понимали масштаб, не было точного плана действий. В какой-то период у меня не было активной работы. Потом все привыкли, мне даже показалось, что в некоторых ситуациях у медицинских работников уровень защиты мог бы быть выше. При прямом взаимодействии с вирусом я бы точно использовал полную защиту (комбинезон, респиратор и т. д.), хоть я и понимаю, что работать долгое время таким образом физически тяжело.

Были положительные моменты в связи с тем, что надо оставаться дома какое-то время. Время, чтобы подумать, что-то привести в порядок, и вещи, и мысли: активизируются процессы, на которые обычно нет времени. Я больше думаю, чем действую, но и мне не хватает социальной составляющей сейчас. Обычно есть впечатления, и нужно закрыться и как-то их переработать, а сейчас этих впечатлений мало, мало эмоциональной пищи, я уже соскучился.

Я понял, что я зависим от новых впечатлений и испытываю дискомфорт от несвободы. Даже идея выхода из круга общения связана не с тем, что я им не доволен: я просто хочу чувствовать, что я могу это сделать. Любые ограничения — пространственные, социальные — вызывают у меня неприятные эмоции.

Наверное, мне сложнее всего представлять будущее, в котором мне скажут: «И вот так тебе жить ещё пять лет». Мне хочется неожиданностей, хочется не знать, чем закончится вечер, выйти из дома и вернуться в среду. Во всяком случае, хочется, чтобы такая вероятность была. Хочется чувствовать свободу относительно обстоятельств, чувствовать, что я сам могу что-то поменять.

«Расскажи мне»

RU