Mattis

28, software engineer

Mattis, 28, software engineer

interviewed on 28 May 2020

Mattis. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

This came at the perfect time for me. The biggest thing I felt was that there was no fear of missing out. I’m more introverted, and before that, I was trying to play the extravert. And at that time, there was nothing going on, so I didn’t have to play the game; I was more myself than before. That was the main thing: it was a very positive experience. I got to know myself more. Maybe during the later stages, when it was almost over but not over, I had a little bit of this anxiety about how to go back to that life before the crisis.

I’m a software engineer, and I worked from home, so it wasn’t a big change for me. And now, it’s hard to push myself back into the office, but I know it’s good to be there. I feel it’s better when the workday starts, and workday ends, but at home, it lasts hours longer.

Mattis. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

I started pushing my training routine, so every day, I worked out and did running. Around three months later, I’m planning to run a marathon. It was something I discovered that is helping me. When you run, you don’t have any thoughts. For me, it’s a meditative state of mind, so you have this daily break from everything, and you are just on the road.

I missed cultural events, traveling, or the feeling that sometimes you can do things that you feel kind of pop at you at the moment. But nothing major. I didn’t have any plans that were canceled; just a few possibilities: a few festivals outside Estonia. I had an event I was planning to go to at the end of May, but it was postponed until December. It’s a sports event that I wanted to watch in Germany, but it was postponed, so it’s still ok.

Mattis. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

I think the lockdown itself wasn’t hard for me, but the period after was a bit hard because it goes to normal, but it’s not the same as before: it’s a totally new world. I cannot make any travel plans, even though the flights are going, I have to be more careful with those plans because I don’t want to get stuck somewhere. I think it’s the new normal; it’s never going back there. It’s in the middle of something, maybe not exactly the new normal.

Mattis. Polina Soyref, portrait photographer

“Tell me your story”, virtual exhibition

EN

Маттис

28, разработчик программного обеспечения

Маттис, 28, разработчик

Маттис. Polina Soyref

Это случилось в самое подходящее для меня время. Самое заметное ощущение — пропала боязнь что-то пропустить. Я более интроверт, а до этого я пытался играть роль экстраверта. Во время локдауна ничего не происходило, поэтому мне не нужно было играть в эту игру: я был больше собой, чем раньше. Только в конце, когда всё почти закончилось, я беспокоился, как вернуться к преждей, докризисной жизни.

Я разработчик программного обеспечения. Я работал из дома и до этого, поэтому переход в режим домашнего офиса не стал для меня большой переменой. Сейчас мне сложно заставить себя снова ходить в офис, но я знаю, что мне полезно там бывать. Я чувствую, что лучше, когда рабочий день начинается и заканчивается, а дома он продолжался гораздо дольше.

Маттис. Polina Soyref

Я начал интенсивнее заниматься спортом. Каждый день у меня была тренировка, еще я бегал. Теперь, примерно три месяца спустя, я планирую пробежать марафон. Я обнаружил, что это что-то, что мне помогает. Когда ты бегаешь, ты ни о чем не думаешь. Для меня это медитативное состояние сознания, такой ежедневный перерыв от всего, когда ты просто движешься.

Я скучал по культурным событиям, по путешествиям, по ощущению, что иногда можно делать какие-то вещи, которые просто внезапно приходят в голову. Не было каких-то конкретных планов, которые оказались не реализованы. Только некоторые возможности, которые не случились — несколько музыкальных фестивалей за пределами Эстонии. Я планировал посмотреть спортивное событие в Германии в мае, но оно было перенесено на декабрь, так что все в порядке.

Маттис. Polina Soyref

Я думаю, сам локдаун был не так сложен для меня, как период сразу после него: когда всё, кажется, вернулось к норме, но не совсем так, как раньше. Это совсем новый мир. Я не могу планировать никаких путешествий, хотя авиарейсы восстановились. Я должен быть более осторожен с планами, потому что я не хочу застрять где-то. Наверное, это «новая норма», оно никогда не вернется назад. Или что-то посередине, может быть, не совсем «новая норма».

Маттис. Polina Soyref

«Расскажи мне», виртуальная выставка

RU